Friday, December 15, 2017

The Last Couple Of Days, With A Twist(ed Car)

An epic couple of days, though not the way I'd planned. Read on.
Wednesday, photos of the Good Fellows luncheon, photos of the Earl Scruggs Center in Shelby, NC, and then photos of Chatham County Line's holiday show in Raleigh. Thursday, photos of the Good Friends luncheon, and then had my car sandwiched between two other cars. Called the police, had the wrecker take my car away, and then shot the two events I'd planned to shoot tonight. My thanks, as always, to Sandra Barley for rolling along with the madness that is my life. I'm okay, but the Car Of Rock, with over 282,000 miles of service, may have had its last ride. 
On Friday, I'll be running errands (literally, running, wave at me when you drive by), and then appearing on WBTV Bounce at 8:30pm, ahead of our Double Door Inn reunion show on Sunday. Hope to see you all soon. Life is too often full of dents and dings, but it's the journey that keeps us going. See you on the road.
December 14, 2017

Sunday, December 10, 2017

The Past Few Days

Friday, photos of the CBI 20th anniversary breakfast with Anthony Foxx and many others, two tapings of Carolina Business Review, Molly Grantham and friends at Park Road Books, CLTBallet Nutcracker event, and rocking out with the Sammies and many others at Neighborhood Theatre for the Tom Petty tribute. Saturday, photos of one book signing at Park Road Books, Tosco Music Christmas party, and Gray Holiday Gala. One week until the Double Door Inn reunion show at Neighborhood Theatre! Hope to see you there. See you in the jpegs, and see you on the road.
December 10, 2017

Thursday, December 7, 2017

Ann Moses Piece For The Big Takeover Magazine, Winter 2017 Issue

Ann Moses: On The Beat
by Daniel Coston
Big Takeover Magazine, Winter 2017 edition

“I knew all about writing a three page article,” says Ann Moses when asked about what took so long to write a book on her life, “but a book seemed a much bigger deal.” For the longtime editor of Tiger Beat Magazine, and contributor to the New Music Express during the 1960s and early ‘70s, it wasn’t until her then co-workers searched her on Google. “They said, ‘You’ve got over 60 pages on Google,” she says. “I started reading them, and found all of these people who said that I was very influential in becoming a writer. That floored me.” One of those people was Ann Wicker, who helped to bring Moses’ new book, “Meow! My Groovy Life With Tiger Beat’s Teen Idols” to fruition.

The book is full of stories that would make even the most casual rock & roll fan envious. Sitting in the audience for Elvis Presley’s 1968 Comeback Special, and his triumphant Las Vegas shows. Watching and photographing every show at the Monterey Pop Festival. Meeting and befriending the likes of Harry Nilsson, and the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band on their way to stardom. Stories of bringing the likes of then-Yardbirds guitarist Jimmy Page to the set of The Monkees TV show to meet the band. Exciting times with the likes of the Rolling Stones, Paul Revere & The Raiders, the Monkees (Moses edited the monthly Monkees Spectacular, as well), the Beatles (Ann’s brother was also a guard at their 1966 Dodger Stadium show, and it is his badge with John asked to have, and can be seen wearing in Jim Marshall’s backstage photos of their Candlestick Park show), and much, much more. Along the way, there are stories of a relationship with Maurice Gibb of the Bee Gees (“He picked me up in London in John Lennon’s Rolls Royce,” recalls Moses), star musicians that could be difficult to deal with, and interacting with some of the greatest musicians during what Moses describes as “a very groovy time.”

“Somebody asked me recently, ‘Did I realize at the time how what a big deal that you were experiencing?’” says Moses. “I did. I recount the story of ending up being backstage with the Rolling Stones at the Cow Palace, in San Francisco. I had flown up there with Jefferson Airplane, who were opening, but I knew none of this when I got on the plane. And here I am standing two feet below Mick Jagger, and I’m getting these amazing photographs.

“I look back now, and I’m amazed by how tenacious I was. I was twenty years old when I started writing for Tiger Beat, around the same age as the musicians I was interviewing. And I would find a way to get an interview, or get a story written. I didn’t see it at the time as being that driven, I was just trying to make it happen. But now I look back, and I realize how much determination that I had. As much as I was in awe of everything that was happening, I was able to maintain composure, and do my job. It was seriously cool stuff.” 

JD McPherson/Charley Crockett Photos, Charlotte, NC, December 6, 2017

JD McPherson
Charley Crockett
Visulite Theater
Charlotte, NC
December 6, 2017
All photos copyright 2017 Daniel Coston

December 7, 2017

Events In The Next Few Days

So yes, Sunday December 17th, Double Door Inn reunion and anniversary, at the Neighborhood Theatre. See you there, and more on this soon. This week, I hope to see you Friday at the Tom Petty tribute at the Neighborhood Theatre (come by and give a big hug to Justin F Fedor, and all of your favorite Charlotte musicians), Tosco Music Party Christmas show on Saturday (holiday hugs and best wishes for them, too), and more in the next few days. See you in the holidays, and see you on the road. Take it away, Bill. 

December 7, 2017

Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Happy Birthday Milah

Before I really start promoting the Double Door Inn reunion show on the 17th, I wanted to pause and wish a happy fifth birthday to my niece, Milah. Milah, when I was the age you are now (yes, that was a long time ago), your mother Karen Coston Parks was born. Being five is an awesome age. The possibilities, and the energy you possess when you are five, can seem endless. The dreams you have now can stay with you for your entire life, if you are willing to able to hold into them, and let them grow, as you grow. Enjoy every adventure, every playdate, and remember that you are never alone in your dreams, and that where you go through life may not be what you once had planned, but it may be an even better adventure than what we had once dreamed. Happy birthday, and many more, see you at the playdates, and see you on the road.
December 6, 2017